Search Results: kentucky/ (2)

l.jpeg
Graphic: Sheree Krider

​Kentucky, long known as a state where excellent marijuana is grown, has lowered its penalties for possession of up to eight ounces of the herb, effective Friday, June 24.

Back in March the Kentucky Legislature overwhelmingly passed (97-2 in the House; 38-0 in the Senate) House Bill 463, which was then signed into law by Governor Steve Bershear. The new law reduces the penalty for personal possession of up to eight ounces of pot to a Class B misdemeanor, carrying a maximum penalty of 45 days in jail.
But don’t get too carried away; those penalties are just for first offenses. Subsequent offenses with up to eight ounces are still felonies, for which you can get up to five years in prison and a fine of up to $10,000, according to the National Organization for the Reform of Marijuana Laws (NORML).

county-2-sheriff-pd-enter-08142008.jpeg
Photo: ENEWSPF

​Here’s a case study in how not to react to questioning. A man barricaded himself in his home after Kentucky State Police stopped by to “ask him a few questions” about growing marijuana, police said.

Deputies and state troopers working on a marijuana eradication team said they stopped by the home of Brian Marrone, 36, of Burlington, Ky., just after 2 p.m. on Thursday to ask about the possibility of pot plants being spotted on his property, reports WLWT.
At first, nobody answered the door, until a woman came out of the home and told them a man was inside threatening his own life, according to Tom Scheben, spokesman for the Boone County Sheriff’s Department, reports WCPO.