Despite the state being home to the great Willie Nelson, Texas and marijuana don’t go hand-in-hand. You’re looking at a misdemeanor for carrying anything under two ounces with up to 180 days in jail and $2,000 in fines. Cultivation is based on weight, and cops love to weigh everything attached to a plant – easily putting you at the four-ounce felony threshold and getting you anywhere from 180 days to five years mandatory prison time.
Yee-haw, indeed. Texas, your laws are absurd.
Angelica Leicht with the Houston Press knows this, and lists off ten reasons why the Lone Star State needs to legalize the herb.